Mississippi is a state located in the Southern United States. It is bordered by Tennessee to the north, Alabama to the east, the Gulf of Mexico to the south, and Louisiana and Arkansas to the west. Mississippi is the 32nd largest and 34th-most populous of the 50 United States. Its capital and largest city is Jackson.