District of Columbia

The District of Columbia, commonly referred to as Washington, D.C., is the capital of the United States. The city is the administrative center for the federal government and home to the U.S. Congress, the White House and the Supreme Court. Located along the Potomac River between Maryland and Virginia, the city is known for its iconic monuments and memorials, colorful neighborhoods and diverse population.